Google’s new ‘Inactive Account Manager’ for digital afterlife

A question comes in the mind of almost all the people that what will happen to my digital identity after I die? Google, thinking just that, introduced the ‘Inactive Account Manager‘. Google lets its users to set a particular ‘inactive’ time period and does many thing as per the user wants after the time of inactivity ends.

Like say, you set the time of inactivity to 3 months, and instructs Google to alert you via SMS and email that inactivity time period is hit. As soon as the inactivity limit hits, Google send you a SMS and email with also informing some of your (chosen) friends and other people about the same, it also shares some data with them. Google optionally ‘deletes’ your Google profile and identity from its servers.

Google Afterlife

Google explains it this way in the announcement:

For example, you can choose to have your data deleted — after three, six, nine or 12 months of inactivity. Or you can select trusted contacts to receive data from some or all of the following services: +1s; Blogger; Contacts and Circles; Drive; Gmail; Google+ Profiles, Pages and Streams; Picasa Web Albums; Google Voice and YouTube. Before our systems take any action, we’ll first warn you by sending a text message to your cellphone and email to the secondary address you’ve provided.

Well, this is definitely interesting and worth to setup (probably).

Source: Google’s Public Policy Blog

Akshat loves to code, which is why he's a web developer. He founded Virtuaniz to serve his passion for tech, and currently serves as the Editor. You can follow him on the web: Website, Facebook, Twitter

Loading Facebook Comments ...
Loading Disqus Comments ...